Agents out to enforce turkey baiting rules | Sports


Department of Wildlife and Fisheries’ Enforcement Division agents served notice they’re ready to find and cite turkey hunters violating baiting regulations.

Agents fanned out across the state during last weekend’s season-opening days and nabbed 14 for allegedly hunting over or near baited areas.

Without naming names, turkey hunters should take to heart that citations came from all corners of the state, from Livingston, St. Helena and West Feliciana parishes in the the state’s southeast corner to Bossier, Caldwell and Beauregard parishes. That was Saturday’s activity.

Sunday’s citations came from East Feliciana, Catahoula, Rapides, Union and Winn parishes.

State regs ban hunting and/or taking turkeys “by the aid of baiting or on or over a baited area. Hunters are not allowed to place, expose, deposit or scatter corn, wheat or other grain, salt or other feed to lure turkeys to their hunting area.”

Some of the hunters also were cited for failing to affix tags to the turkeys. All hunters, no matter their ages, are required to tag their downed turkeys before taking the birds from the field.

Hunting over bait convictions carry a fine of up to $500.

More DU honors

While Ducks Unlimited’s Baton Rouge Chapter honors Kell McInnis at the Renaissance Hotel during a sponsors’ banquet Thursday, DU honors more than a dozen Louisiana chapters on its 2017 list of chapters from across the country.

These chapters achieved the status of Chairman’s Roll of Honor (raising $250,000 plus), President’s Elite ($100,000-$249,999) and President’s Roll of Honor ($65,000-$99,999).

Lafayette Area and Shreveport chapters hit the top mark, the Chairman’s Roll of Honor list.

Nine Louisiana chapters made the President’s Elite list — LSU’s Tiger in Baton Rouge, St. Tammany West in Covington, New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Abbeville, Upper Lafourche in Thibodaux, East Ascension based in Gonzales, Lake Charles and Jefferson Parish based in Metairie.

And chapters on the President’s Roll of Honor were West Monroe, Lincoln Parish based in Ruston, Sulphur and Avoyelles Parish based in Marksville.

All will be honored during DU’s 81st National Convention in Indianapolis set May 29-June 3.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here